No Excuses…Right?

So, this blogging thing hasn’t been as easy to keep up with as I thought it would be, hence the delay. Actually three root canals didn’t help, but hey, no excuses, right? Which is exactly what I’m talking about today….excuses. Sometimes I like to call them mini-procrastinations…you say no, they aren’t the same thing, but I say yes, they kind of go hand-in-hand, right? Without the excuse, would you be able to procrastinate? No!

So, I have an excuse I want to make known today, and it’s an excuse that every single adult in this world has to have thought about at some given point in time and it’s the dreaded excuse of growing up, or now growing old-er-ish. I think that Shonda Rhymes once said it best in a voice-over from her character Meredith Grey from the famed Gray’s Anatomy ABC television show: “I’ve heard that it’s possible to grow up, I’ve just never met anyone who’s actually done it. Without parents to defy, we break the rules we make for ourselves. We throw tantrums when things don’t go our way. We whisper secrets with our best friend, in the dark. We look for comfort where we can find it. And we hope against all logic, against all experience, like children, we never give up hope. After careful consideration and many sleepless nights, here’s what I’ve decided. There’s no such thing as a grown-up. We move out, we move away from our families. But the basic insecurities, the fears and all the old wounds just grow up with us. Just when you think life has forced you to truly become an adult, your mother says something like that. We get bigger, taller, older. But, for the most part, we’re still a bunch of kids, running around the playground, trying desperately to fit in.” Now ain’t that the truth? I mean, we grow up (and out, physically), but there is always this inner kid inside of us making these proverbial “bucket list’s” of what we wanted and still want to do in our lives. Our wounds we’ve taken on may “heal”, but they are never forgotten. We are in a perpetual state of trying to keep up with the Jones’, when indeed wouldn’t it be easier to just BE the Jones’.

Case in point: In my experience as an RN in the ER and ICU I’ve seen and heard a LOT of things people say when impending death is near. Many said they wished they could’ve done more with their lives, made more of a difference and then gave the excuses that prevented it. Some said they wished they could take things back that they said to people, and then they gave their excuses why they didn’t. And there were the elite few, and I mean few, that were at peace with their lives and had no regrets and gave no excuses for the life that they had lived.

I want to be one of those people. I truly do, but in all honestly I’m not off to a very good start. I am an excuse giver/procrastinator/bad representative of an adult…I guess. I have to make this blog my new home of growing up. I have so much to say, but I often feel like I get lost and just kind of disappear into myself and then nothing gets done. So, I am here…to speak…to laugh..to learn…to grow up! Anybody else want on board??

Thanks for reading!

About letters2thedead

An aspiring writer/actress, former Nurse and Teacher, full of dry comedic humor and love for humanity. This is my test...

Posted on April 5, 2011, in death, humor, life. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment