Permission To Change…Please

When we say things like “people don’t change”, it drives scientist crazy because change is literally the only constant in all of science. Energy, matter, it’s always changing, morphing, merging, growing, dying. It’s the way people try not to change that’s unnatural. The way we cling to what things were instead of letting things be what they are. The way we cling to old memories instead of forming new ones. The way we insist on believing despite every scientific indication that anything in this lifetime is permanent. Change is constant. How we experience change that’s up to us. It can feel like death or it can feel like a second chance at life. If we open our fingers, loosen our grips, go with it, it can feel like pure adrenaline. Like at any moment we can have another chance at life. Like at any moment, we can be born all over again.”  Grey’s Anatomy (Shonda Rhymes, phenom writer!).

This quote struck me like a bolt of lightening!  Yes, jolted me, helped me breathe for a second to think that this is how we tend to think about CHANGE.  After all, this is what I’ve been stuck on…making changes in my own life, which lead me to share it as some posts on my blog.   I thought that others may be going through some of the same emotions and pain that I’m currently going through as I take on this “born again” process.

I’ve been having a bit of a “writers block” after my last post (so please forgive my bouncing all over the place in this post), but recently, I’ve been reading all I can get my hands on about changing my life and having the courage to make BIG CHANGES this late in the game (ok, sharing my age, 38).  I mean, can I really change at this point?  It’s interesting what I’ve found out there…it really is, but a lot of what I’ve found, once again, is a lot of “professional guru’s” giving their “professional” opinions and thoughts on the how’s and why’s of making a change in life.  Some of them make some sense, but I have such a hard time (again) buying any of it because I have to wonder just how much they themselves have made changes, life changing changes, and if they had any disadvantages before them when they made them.  I mean, most of us regular old, run of the mill people here on earth have some major obstacles to overcome before we can make any big changes in our lives.  I think this is why I like the quotes I find from GA, they are straight forward and pretty much hit the nail on the head.  I know, I know, it’s a t.v. show, but it still makes sense (far more sense than some of this other stuff I’ve been reading from the “pro’s”).

Sometimes we are not given the choice of making a change because it happens without notice or our permission.  This is the change that scares everyone the most, it’s a scary thought and can cause major life shake-ups.  What I do know is this, if we make a plan….even set a goal to deal with whatever change life has forced upon us, we can shape it into something that we do actually want.  Mistakes are expected, detours are almost a certainty, but the end results if we dedicate ourselves to finding the good in the changes we are making, well, that’s what life’s all about…giving ourselves PERMISSION to make or allow a change in ourselves, our vision for our lives.  It’s a process, and most of the time it doesn’t happen over night.  Sometimes it can take weeks, months, even years for changes to occur, but in the end it’s all worth the millions of emotions that it took us to get there.  It’s worth all of those bumps in the road and roller coasters to be “born again“.

Thanks for reading!  Remember to….BREATHE!

About letters2thedead

An aspiring writer/actress, former Nurse and Teacher, full of dry comedic humor and love for humanity. This is my test...

Posted on April 20, 2011, in addiction, breath, breathing, change, death, failure, fear, humor, life, love, mistakes, relationships. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

